The AFA certification is directed towards the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) with enough academic preparation, experience, professional practice, which has been verified in Forensic Auditing, Internal and External Auditing, Governmental Audits, quantifying of damages and as well as expert testimony in Accounting practices and support in legal trials. The CPA will be certified as AFA to prevent, deter, control, detect, investigate and confirm or discard the occurrence of fraud, corruption or money laundering in businesses, institutions or governments.

The AFA candidates should be responsible as Forensic Auditors, Internal Auditors, External or Government, Fraud Investigators, Corruption and Money Laundering, Accountants, Officers, Risk and Compliance Supervisors, Agents and Brokers of the Stock Exchange, Monetary Service Officer and Agents, Money Transmitters and Money Exchange, Executives, Officers, Agents and/or Bank Regulators, Financial Institutions and Non-Financial Securities Commission, Insurance, Healthcare, Marine and Free Zones, Real Estate, Casino and Travel Agencies, among others.

Since February 2002, professional around the world have joined AFLIFC and now IIAFA. Professionals from Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Uruguay, Haití, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela, United States, Spain, Germany and Portugal.


The application form and AFA certification training-workshop were designed to measure knowledge and experience which represent the professional practice of a Anti-Fraud Forensic Auditor. The professional that receives the required ponderance to obtain the AFA Certification will be a individual that is qualified in the Anti-Fraud Forensic Auditor field as a specialization for the CPA and recognized worldwide for its academic preparation, experience and professional practice.

The questions included in the AFA Certification training-workshop has been prepared by a committee made up of Professional Forensic Auditors with more than 10 years of experience in the exercise of Forensic Audits and taking into account the aspects which are directly related to Fraud, Corruption and Money Laundering.


Candidates taking the AFA Certification training-workshop must complete the respective application and send it to IIAFA with payment and supporting documentation required. The candidate must demonstrate in the application at least 70 points to be eligible to take the training-workshop of the certification AFA, as summarized in the following table:

Qualification Points
University degree greater than three (3) years 10 points for title
University degree less than three (3) years 5 points for title
Certifications: CPA, CFE, CAMS, CIA, CISA, FCPA, CFF, CFFA, Cr.FA 5 points for title
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) - Only Fraud and Forensic Auditing 2 points for each hour of CPE as a speaker
Half point for every hour of CPE as a participant
Experience in Forensic Auditing 4 points for year
Experience Quantification of Damage 1 point for every 20 hours of work
Experience in Accounting or Litigation Support 1 point for every 30 hours of work
Experience in Internal Audit, External and Government 1 point for every 30 hours of work

The IIAFA reserves the right to communicate with or request information from candidates and/or additional documentation to verify the score indicated by the candidates in their application. In cases of forensic audit, quantification of damages and or accounting expertise and/or litigation support, certifications may be required of contractors and/or supervisors, justice corporations (prosecution, courts, etc.), report, file or case number, date for submission, ratification and/or sustaining of work and final or current status.

Register Here


Due to the existence of associations in other countries that issue certifications that have directly related with the requirements set forth by the IIAFA in the formation of the AFA, it is a suitable occasion to recognize them and at the same time unite all the CPA’s from the around the world under the maximum specialization that will be the Anti-fraud Forensic Auditor, who will become in the future the business advisor of choice with more confidence and credibility for clients.

Recognition for other Certifications:

If you hold one of the following Certifications or Combination of Certifications it will help you in the event that you can not comply with the minimum of 70 points to be eligible to sit for the AFA Certification training-workshop:

  1. Cr.FA
  2. FCPA
  3. CFF
  4. CFE and CAMS (should have both)
  5. CFFA

These are the associations that issue the certifications that the IIAFA recognizes:

American College of Forensic Examiners (ACFEI)
Sunshine St.
Springfield, Missouri 65804, USA
Certified Forensic Accountant (Cr.FA)

Forensic CPA Society (FCPAS)
4314 South Orlando
Spokane, Washington 99223, USA
Forensic Certified Public Accountant (FCPA)

The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
1211 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036, USA
Certified in Financial Forensics (CFF)

Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE)
World Headquarters – The Gregor Building
716 West Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-2727, USA
Certified Fraud Examiners (CFE)

Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists (ACAMS)
Brickell Bayview Center
80 Southwest 8th Street, Suite 2350
Miami, Florida 33130, USA
Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist (CAMS)

National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts (NACVA)
111 Brickyard Road, Suite 200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84106-5401, USA
Certified Forensic Financial Analyst (CFFA)